Tags

, , , , ,

lamb chopsI’m introducing a new element to this blog. A goal of mine is to acknowledge the power of surrounding yourself with great people you want to emulate. In the past few years, I have met a myriad of amazing people and it’s helped me mentally prepare for what I’m doing now.

One of those amazing people is Amie Sherry of Amie Sherry Designs.  Amie and I are members of the same cooking club and met a little over two years ago. Besides being an amazing interior designer she is married to a great guy and is mom to two adorable boys one of hers is an infant.

Here is a bit of her story in her own words:

I’ve always had a passion for food and thought I would learn to master my skills hands on in a professional kitchen. In college I worked Garde Manager in two restaurants in Santa Barbara, first at Cuvée (American) and then Emilio’s (Italian). After graduating college I partnered in a pastry business, Jenna Bakes & Amie Too which offered beautiful desserts and gift baskets. I decided to get my culinary degree when I wasn’t sure which direction I wanted to take in the food industry; I explored restaurant PR, food journalism, etc. ultimately I decided cooking would be more a personal passion rather than career choice.

I continued creatively with managing a novelty t shirt line and began working at Shabby Chic learning everything about home goods, furniture, fabric patterns, marketing, photo shoots, retail websites, branding etc. This was an amazing learning experience as I participated in its grass roots level to breaking into a licensed Target brand and being an ambassador for overseas trips.

After getting married and having my first child, my husband Dean and I embarked on renovating our first home. I took the interior design post with full force and from there decided to start my own business. I’ve been able to be a stay at home mom while simultaneously having my creative juices fulfilled. Each home and job requires something fresh which is what keeps me excited about decorating.

Wow! Beautiful, talented, giving and powerhouse credentials to boot! What amazed me most was Amie’s willingness to offer me advice and to share her insider culinary knowledge with me. I left her home not only determined to press on but armed with new resources.

In exchange for Amie’s insight, I offered to cook her a meal (and use her and her husband as Guinea pigs!) I made pan seared lamb chops that I topped with a coffee/red wine reduction and asparagus and cream risotto with espresso orange cheesecakes for dessert.

If you live in the Los Angeles area and are looking for an amazing interior designer, give her a call and you won’t be disappointed! 1385678_10201407302918814_664124271_n