Tags

, ,

Hi everyone! I’m so sorry that I didn’t write much last week – I was going through a whirlwind of emotions and I don’t want the only story line here to be my neurosis! There is more to me than my insecurity and that’s what I want to focus on this week.

Yesterday I tried one of my recipes out on some friends of ours – pumpkin chili! It did not disappoint but I didn’t think to take pictures until it was much too late so look for that later this week.  If anyone is interested in tasting it – please leave a note in the comment section and if you’re local we can work out a drop off/pickup.

Despite the craziness last week, I did get myself signed on to offer a few goodies at Bake Sale LA on November 17. I am beyond excited – I’ll be offering mini pumpkin cheesecakes, mini City girl s’mores cheesecakes and roasted cauliflower and bacon quiche. Once I get the marketing materials sent to me I will post a flyer. If you have gotten any sense of me from reading this blog, you’ll understand that this is a huge deal for me. I’m showcasing myself for the first time – not via another company or as part of a group, but just as Devvon. I’m ready for it. I’m ready to stop lurking in the shadows and to see what I’m really made of.

One of the other things I’m ready to go full throttle on is my Direct Sales business. I mentioned that I was going to be an Independent Stylist for Winnie and Kat but I feel I owe you guys an explanation because at first glance it seems random (even to me). First, it’s not random. Remember the conference I wrote about here? One of the dynamic speakers was Diane Prince Johnston and she is the founder and CEO of Winnie and Kat. She shared how her company began and that she was a single mom of three girls and her story spoke to me. As a woman who is desperate to make it on her own terms and who still wants to put my family first – I felt like she was speaking directly to me. I’ll be the first to admit that I have always turned my nose up at Direct Sales companies, but as I listened to Diane and later spoke with other stylists for her brand, I realized that I was totally wrong about the format and that working with her is the step I need to take right now. Her message is all about empowering women and giving us a chance to have something for ourselves but on our own terms and it is a huge bonus that the clothes are stylish yet versatile pieces that I’ve already incorporated into my wardrobe. As I’m slowly losing weight, I’m sticking to the pieces that I can layer and drape, but there are several body conscious pieces that I’m eyeing for the coming months.

I don’t mean to make this entire post about my new sales career – but I’m excited to be out of my comfort zone. I’m excited that I’m doing what I love on my own terms – cooking and socializing! 🙂 And I’m excited that I’ll be making a little money soon. I’m happy to build my food business, but I still get nervous about not having a steady income.

Thank you for sharing my journey – I promise to get better about sharing my day to day trials. Check back later in the week – I’m making some great things in my kitchen today. Italian chicken w/tomatoes, white wine and basil, lemony parmesan pasta, vegan pumpkin lasagna and a non-vegan version w/italian sausage, pumpkin cheesecakes and a hearty soup for my family to take to school and lunch for work: mini meatballs w/wild rice, spinach, carrots, celery and parmesan.